Skip to content

First-Year Students

All PhD students admitted to the Molecular Biology Program and Biological Chemistry Program who remain in good academic standing will  receive financial support including a fellowship / living stipend ($35,000 for the 2023-2024 academic year), tuition waiver through the Tuition Benefit Program, and health insurance throughout their graduate training.

Calendar and Schedules

Fall 2023 Classes

1st Half: Monday, August 21, 2023 – Friday, October 6, 2023
Labor Day: Monday, September 4, 2023
Fall Break: Monday, October 9, 2023 – Friday, October 13, 2023
 
2nd Half: Monday, October 16, 2023 – Thursday, December 7, 2023
Thanksgiving Break: Thursday, November 23, 2023 – Friday, November 24, 2023
Final Exam Week: Monday, December 11, 2023 – Friday, December 15, 2023
Holiday Recess: Monday, December 18, 2023 – Friday, January 5, 2024

 

Spring 2024 Classes

1st Half: Monday, January 8, 2024 – Wednesday, February 28, 2024
Martin Luther King Jr. Day: Monday, January 15, 2024
Presidents Day: Monday, February 19, 2024
 
2nd Half: Thursday, February 29, 2024 – Tuesday, April 23, 2024
Spring Break: Monday, March 4, 2024 – Friday, March 8, 2024
Final Exam Week (Oral Capstone Presentations): Thursday, April 25, 2024 – Wednesday, May 1, 2024

Academic Calendar 2023-2024 | Curriculum Page

Fall 2023 Lab Rotations

First Rotation: Monday, August 28, 2023 – Friday, October 20, 2023
Rotation Verification Form Due: Friday, October 27, 2023
Rotation Report Due: Friday, October 27, 2023
 
Second Rotation: Monday, October 23, 2023 – Friday, December 8, 2023
Rotation Verification Form Due: Friday, December 15, 2023
Rotation Report Due: Friday, December 15, 2023

 

Spring 2024 Lab Rotation

Third Rotation: Monday, January 8, 2024 – Friday, March 1, 2024
Rotation Verification Form Due: Friday, March 15, 2024
Rotation Report Due: Friday, March 15, 2024
Verbal Lab Commitments Can Begin: Monday, March 4, 2024
Student Join Thesis Lab & Department: May

 

2023-2024 Lab Rotation Schedule Succeeding in Lab Rotations 

Health Insurance Information

2023-24 Providers

Check out the Graduate Website for additional details

For specific benefits inquiries, please contact the individual insurance providers

Health Insurance

U of U Student Health Insurance Plan

Provider United Healthcare

https://studenthealth.utah.edu/

https://www.uhcsr.com/

https://myaccount.uhcsr.com/login

https://www.uhcsr.com/news-main

https://www.uhcsr.com/faqs

Coverage is from 8/16/23 - 8/15/24

2023-24 Studnet Insurance Plan.pdf

We are encouraging students to take advantage of the Virtual Visit* capability, available through the HealthiestYou mobile app, or for more information through your https://myaccount.uhcsr.com/login

HealthiestYou FAQ

Emotional-Support Help Line with Student Health Insurance

Optum is opening its Emotional-Support Help Line, providing access to specially trained mental health specialists to support people who may be experiencing anxiety or stress. Optum’s toll-free help line number, 866-342-6892, will be open 24 hours a day, seven days a week, for as long as necessary. The service is free of charge and open to anyone. 

 

Dental/Vision

U of U Student Dental/Vision Insurance Plan

Provider EMI Health

https://emihealth.com/groupplans/refid/uvoluntary

EMI Login Information

Coverage is from 8/16/23 - 8/15/24

2023-24 Student Dental/Vision Plan.pdf

 

Resources and other Offices at the University of Utah

 

 

Last Updated: 4/9/24