Skip to content

First-Year Students

All PhD students admitted to the Molecular Biology Program and Biological Chemistry Program who remain in good academic standing will  receive financial support including a fellowship / living stipend ($37,000 for the 2024-2025 academic year), tuition waiver through the Tuition Benefit Program, and health insurance throughout their graduate training.

Calendar and Schedules

Fall 2024 Classes

1st Half: Monday, August 19, 2024 - Friday, October 4, 2024
Labor Day: Monday, September 2, 2024
Fall Break: Monday, October 7, 2024 – Friday, October 11, 2024
 
2nd Half: Monday, October 14, 2024 - Thursday, December 5, 2024
Thanksgiving Break: Thursday, November 28, 2024 – Friday, November 29, 2024
Final Exam Week: Monday, December 9, 2024 – Friday, December 13, 2024
Holiday Recess: Monday, December 16, 2024 – Friday, January 3, 2025

 

Spring 2025 Classes

1st Half: Monday, January 6, 2025 - Friday, February 28, 2025
Martin Luther King Jr. Day: Monday, January 20, 2025
Presidents Day: Monday, February 17, 2025
 
2nd Half: Monday, March 3, 2025 - Tuesday, April 22, 2025
Spring Break: Monday, March 10, 2025 – Friday, March 14, 2025
Final Exam Week (Oral Capstone Presentations): Thursday, April 24, 2025 – Wednesday, April 30, 2025

Academic Calendar 2024-2025 | Curriculum Page

Fall 2024 Lab Rotations

First Rotation: Monday, August 26, 2024 – Friday, October 18, 2024
Rotation Verification Form Due: Friday, October 25, 2024
Rotation Report Due: Friday, October 25, 2024
 
Second Rotation: Monday, October 21, 2024 – Friday, December 6, 2024
Rotation Verification Form Due: Friday, December 20, 2024
Rotation Report Due: Friday, December 20, 2024

 

Spring 2025 Lab Rotation

Third Rotation: Monday, January 6, 2025 – Friday, February 28, 2025
Rotation Verification Form Due: Friday, March 7, 2025
Rotation Report Due: Friday, March 7, 2025
Verbal Lab Commitments Can Begin:Monday, March 3, 2025
Student Join Thesis Lab & Department: May

 

2024-2025 Lab Rotation Schedule Succeeding in Lab Rotations 

Health Insurance Information

2024-25 Providers

Check out the Graduate Website for additional details

For specific benefits inquiries, please contact the individual insurance providers

Health Insurance

U of U Student Health Insurance Plan

Provider United Healthcare

https://studenthealth.utah.edu/

https://www.uhcsr.com/

https://myaccount.uhcsr.com/login

https://www.uhcsr.com/news-main

https://www.uhcsr.com/faqs

Coverage is from 8/16/24 - 8/15/25

2024-25 Studnet Insurance Plan.pdf *coming soon

We are encouraging students to take advantage of the Virtual Visit* capability, available through the HealthiestYou mobile app, or for more information through your https://myaccount.uhcsr.com/login

HealthiestYou FAQ

Last Year's Plan

Emotional-Support Help Line with Student Health Insurance

Optum is opening its Emotional-Support Help Line, providing access to specially trained mental health specialists to support people who may be experiencing anxiety or stress. Optum’s toll-free help line number, 866-342-6892, will be open 24 hours a day, seven days a week, for as long as necessary. The service is free of charge and open to anyone. 

 

Dental/Vision

U of U Student Dental/Vision Insurance Plan

Provider EMI Health

https://emihealth.com/groupplans/refid/uvoluntary

EMI Login Information

Coverage is from 8/16/24 - 8/15/25

2024-25 Student Dental/Vision Plan.pdf *coming soon

Last Year's Plan

 

Links to other University of Utah Offices

 

 

 

Last Updated: 7/11/24