You are here:

First-Year Students

All PhD students admitted to the Molecular Biology Program and Biological Chemistry Program who remain in good academic standing receive financial support including a fellowship ($28,560 for the 2019-2020 academic year; $29,130 for the 2020-2021 academic year), tuition waiver through the Tuition Benefit Program, and health insurance throughout their graduate training.

Calendar and Schedules


Fall 2019 Classes

1st Half Monday, August 19 to Friday, October 4
2nd Half Monday, October 14 to Thursday, December 5
Final Exam Week December 9 - 13

Spring 2020 Classes

1st Half Monday, January 6 to Tuesday, February 25
2nd Half Wednesday, February 26 to Tuesday, April 21
Final Exam Week (Capstone Exams) April 23 - April 29

Academic Calendar 2019-20 | Curriculum Page

 

Fall 2019 Lab Rotations

First Rotation Monday, August 26 to Friday, October 18
Second Rotation Monday, October 21 to Friday, December 6

Spring 2020 Lab Rotation

Third Rotation Monday, January 13 to Friday, March 6

2019-20 Lab Rotation Schedule Succeeding in Lab Rotations | Rotation Verification Form   

 

 

Health Insurance Information


 

2019-20 Providers are listed below.

Check out the Graduate Website for additional details: https://gradschool.utah.edu/tbp/insurance-information/ 

FOR SPECIFIC BENEFITS INQUIRIES, PLEASE CONTACT THE INDIVIDUAL INSURANCE PROVIDERS:

Health

U of U Student Injury and Sickness Insurance Plan

Provider United Healthcare

Coverage is from 8/16/19 - 8/15/20

Student Insurance Plan.pdf

Dental

U of U Student Dental Insurance Plan

Provider EMI Health

Coverage is from 8/16/19 - 8/15/20     

               Student Dental/Vision Plan.pdf

               EMI Login Information

Vision

U of U Student Vision Insurance Plan

Provider EMI Health

Coverage is from 8/16/19 - 8/15/20

              Student Dental/Vision Plan.pdf

              EMI Login Information

 

 

 

 

Program Resources

 

Upcoming First Year Dates:

  • Wednesday, August 15th: First Year MB/BC Orientation
  • Thursday, August 16th: MB Genetics Pretest
  • Friday, August 17th: Student Retreat
  • Monday, August 20th: First Day of Classes and in-person Radioactive Materials Safety class
  • Monday, August 27th: 1st Rotation Begins

 

 Frequent Forms

 

Bioscience PhD Program Policies and Requirements

 

 

Last Updated: 9/27/19