You are here:

Departments

The Molecular Biology Program and Biological Chemistry Program are two complementary interdepartmental graduate programs at the University of Utah.

At the end of their first year of graduate school students will choose thesis advisors by mutual agreement and will automatically be admitted to the Ph.D. degree program of the advisor's department.

Biochemistry

Biochemistry

Biological Chemistry Program

Molecular Biology Program

Department Website

Department Co-Chairs:

Chris Hill and Wes Sundquist

Director of Graduate Studies:

Adam Hughes

hughes@biochem.utah.edu

Department Contact:

Jill Wilson

jill.wilson@utah.edu

801-585-2555, 4100 EE JMRB

Human Genetics

Human Genetics

Molecular Biology Program

Department Website

Department Chair:

Lynn Jorde

Director of Graduate Studies:

Carl Thummel

carl.thummel@genetics.utah.edu

Department Contact:

Kandace Leavitt

kandacel@genetics.utah.edu

801-585-0462, 5100 EIHG

Oncological Sciences

Biological Chemistry Program

Molecular Biology Program

Department Website

Department Chair:

Brad Cairns

Director of Graduate Studies:

Bryan Welm

bryan.welm@hci.utah.edu

Department Contacts:

Dee DalPonte

dee.dalponte@hci.utah.edu

801-585-7774, HCI 4345

Biology

Biology

Biological Chemistry Program

Molecular Biology Program

Department Website

Department Chair:

Denise Dearing

Director of Graduate Studies:

Donald Feener

donald.feener@utah.edu

Department Contact:

Shannon Nielsen

shannon.nielsen@bioscience.utah.edu

801-581-5636, 102 S BIOL

Medicinal Chemistry

Biological Chemistry Program

Department Website

Department Chair:

Darrell Davis

Director of Graduate Studies:

Thomas Cheatham

tom.cheatham@pharm.utah.edu

Department Contact:

Terri Elder-Hale

terri.elder-hale@pharm.utah.edu

801-581-5581, 307 Skaggs Hall

M&I

Pathology

Division of Microbiology and Immunology

Molecular Biology Program

Department Website

Department Chair: Peter Jensen

Division Head: David Stillman

Director of Graduate Studies:

David Stillman

david.stillman@path.utah.edu

Department Contact:

Shannon Ritzman

shannon.ritzman@path.utah.edu

801-585-5870, 1100 EEJMRB

Chemistry

Chemistry

Biological Chemistry Program

Department Website

Department Chair:

Cindy Burrows

Director of Graduate Studies:

Vahe Bandarian

vahe@chem.utah.edu

Department Contact:

Jolanda Vallejo

jvallejo@chem.utah.edu

801-581-4393, 2504 HEB

Neurobiology

Neurobiology and Anatomy

Molecular Biology Program

Department Website

Department Chair:

Monica Vetter

Director of Graduate Studies:

Sheryl Scott

sheryl.scott@neuro.utah.edu

Department Contact:

Nicole Caldwell

nicole.caldwell@utah.edu

801 581-3653, 320 BPRB

PharmChem

Pharmaceutics and Pharmaceutical Chemistry

Biological Chemistry Program

Department Website

interim Department Chair:

Carol Lim

Director of Graduate Studies:

Carol Lim

carol.lim@pharm.utah.edu

Department Contact:

Dalynn Berglund

dalynn.berglund@utah.edu

801-585-0070, 301 Skaggs Hall

Pharmacology and Toxicology

Biological Chemistry Program

Department Website

Department Chair:

Karen Wilcox

Director of Graduate Studies:

Karen Wilcox

karen.wilcox@hsc.utah.edu

Department Contact:

Linda Wright

linda.wright@utah.edu

801-581-6287, 112 Skaggs Hall

 

Last Updated: 1/30/17